Come experience how welcoming Town of Amherst is. www.AmherstVABusiness.com
The Town of Amherst was founded in 1807. Originally known as “The Oaks” and “Seven Oaks”, it began as a mere stagecoach station on the Charlottesville-Lynchburg road. On April 15, 1910, the Town of Amherst was incorporated by the order of the Circuit Court. A charter was granted to the town by the General Assembly in 1950. One of the main landmarks of the Town of Amherst is the roundabout located at the intersection of Main Street and U.S. Route 60. “The Circle,” as it is affectionately referred to by Amherst residents, is the oldest traffic circle in the VDOT system.
Its location in Central Virginia adjacent to Sweet Briar College provides an uncrowded yet cosmopolitan feeling. The Town of Amherst sponsors the Amherst Industrial Development Authority which is able to provide a conduit for tax-exempt financing for qualified local manufacturing concerns. The L. Barnes Brockman, Sr. Business & Industrial Park is located in the Town of Amherst and is home to Fairmont Crossing and Mutual Telecom Services. This development has a series of “ready to go” building sites for industrial, commercial and institutional operations.
Amherst is blessed with a diverse employment base. Local major employers include the courthouse and county/school board complex, Clorox (plastics), Hermle Black Forest (clocks), Buffalo Air Handling (air handling machinery), Greif Brothers (paper/liner board), and Sweet Briar College. From the mountains, to the beach, to staying at home, there is no place like Amherst!